Greek mythology Gelos is the divine personification of laughter, the most welcome of the gods, always owes its success to some novel subterfuge. This deity favourably and affectionately accompany everywhere the person who arouses and enacts his laughter, and he will never allow you to grieve in mind, but will implant continual joy on your countenance with his sunny elegance.

We hope you will join us in a days full of fun and endless laughs! We will highlight comedy short and feature films, web series, TV episodic, filmed sketch comedy, Dark Comedy, music video and animation with the goal of screening the best comedic content from around the world for a wide audience! Our dual emphasis is on “discovering” great comedic talent with the purpose of promoting it to both the entertainment industry and the Moscow public, as well as, showcasing the works of seasoned professionals and well-known stars. We are proud to showcase, connect and promote talented comedy filmmakers from all over the world.

Awards & prizes

All officially selected films will be shown online and offline on the big screen during the solemn final ceremony on April 05 – 06, 2025 in Moscow, Russia, and will be able to struggle for the main prize and the title of the “Best Comedy Film”. As well as for the prizes in the standalone nominations.

Best Feature Comedy Film

Best Feature Dark Comedy Film

Best Comedy Short

Best Dark Comedy Short 

Best Alternative Comedy Short

Best Animated Comedy Short

Best Comedy Web Series Episode

Best Student Comedy Short

Best Funny Music Video

Best Fake Commercials

Best Mocumentary

Best Comedy Mobile New Media (Sketches, Skits and Vlogs)

Best Feature Film Screenplay

Best Short Film Screenplay

Best Comedy Actor

Best Comedy Actress

Best Comedy Director

Best Cinematography

Dates & Deadlines

Super Earlybird Deadline April 30, 2024

Spring Deadline May 31, 2024

Earlybird Deadline August 21, 2024

October Deadline October 16, 2024

Autumn Deadline November 30, 2024

December Deadline December 31, 2024

Late Deadline January 31, 2025

Spring Deadline March 1, 2025

Extended Deadline March 22, 2025

Notification Date March 25, 2025

Our team 

Festival President Valery Shanin

Valery Shanin — journalist, writer and filmmaker, TV producer, director of “Valery Shanin’s film club”, president of international film festivals.

Head of Programming Slava Krasko

Slava was born in St. Petersburg, Russia, made a career as a financier and when he was 35 years old left the business to go on a round-the-world trip. He described his impressions of the trip in the book “The Year of Spring”. In 2014, Slava traveled by motorcycle across South America on the route of Ernesto Che Guevara and shot a documentary about it. Since 2017 he has been studying at the Higher Courses of Scriptwriters and Directors in Moscow.

Director Irina Spirina

Film Festival Development Manager Alina Fedulova

A graduate of the Faculty of Journalism at Saint Petersburg State University (SPbGU) with a specialization in “International Journalism”. At the film festival, she coordinates participants and develops partnerships. As a digital nomad, she combines traveling the world with organizing various international film festivals.